Day 143: Titanic

So here we are. Day 143. 

Today I decided to watch what would culminate my experiences throughout this entire project.  I had to, it was a sinker. 😉

I started this project as a jaded 20 something year old, reeling off once again another tragic love story. A story that would often repeat itself but always end entirely different.

I never understood why we make ourselves endure such ridiculous displays of emotion captured on film. We watch the zany, the fantasy and sometimes the all too real experiences of love lost, earned and found. But what I’ve learned throughout this project is that we’re always hopeful. Maybe not entirely hopeful, but we pull these bits and pieces of joy through these romantic comedies, in lure of something even more magical, appreciating the realities of actual love.

There is no winning in being single or being in a relationship. There are only mere moments of goodness that we relish and hold on to. These moments are what makes these films about love mean something to us, we relate on the basic principle that was a good moment. That’s what makes us cry and pine for cinematic savior.

This blog has found a home on the internet for those who identify themselves as “recovering hopeless romantics.” And in that regard, that’s the only thing I can ask for. On the surface, it sounded like such a stupid thing to do. I mean sure I spent 143 days watching films but  I wanted to build a community for those who felt like their love wasn’t being appreciated and were discouraged by the lack of faith out there. BECAUSE I FEEL THAT WAY. This was for the romantics who realized finding love does kind of suck, but we’re still awesome anyways. Through this project, so many bloggers/readers have welcomed me to their experiences, their thoughts and feelings and have allowed me to better understand what love essentially would mean and could be. BECAUSE SHIT, LOVE IS FUCKING COMPLICATED. 

While it could be all so simple, it won’t be. So have my thoughts change over time about love and movies?  Yes. I’ve actually become more patient about the thought of love. I have no idea why, but I figured if I can’t magically initiate attraction in less than three hours, according to films, then I’m doing something right. Rules or no rules, instant chemistry or opposition, we’re always bound and inclined to meet someone interesting. While these films are formulaic, everything else in life is not. We hold these films dearly because in a world that’s completely uncertain, we’re certain of how these love stories get played out. The prince will always come and save the princess through sickness, through dragons, through fear. Leaving us all misty-eyed.

What I’ve been asked plenty during this thing was what was my favorite film. To be honest, it’s been a cinematic blur. I puke love. But truthfully, they’ve all found a place in my dark little heart. I love and hate them all equally. I really do need to give some props to the Cusack and Julia Roberts. May they continue to blast our screens with their effortless smiles and trysts of romantic connections.

I think that it’s safe to say I won’t be seeing another romantic film for quite a while. And I’m not entirely sure what I’ll be doing after but it’s sure not going to be X amount of days doing this. While keeping motivated was an issue, the choices of movies were also difficult. There are A LOT of movies out there. Some good, some bad, some too serious for me to handle.  In that aspect, makes you wonder that there are no solidifying perspectives of love. Such a common thing in the world that’s outrightly subjective. What’s been striking about this film is that many more men have suggested romantic films than women. I’m sure it doesn’t mean they get what we desire, but at least they’re taking subtle hints from somewhere. What’s even more striking is how people respond when asked what’s their favorite romantic movie and why. The explanations don’t necessarily range, but the responses ultimately relay to the idea of “that’s the kind of love they want.” Whether it be with a sparkling vampire or a familiar ending, it’s essentially a high notion of fantasy driving this decision.

Oh, and Rose could’ve scooted a bit to leave some room for Jack. Just saying.

This slightly not-so-jaded 21 year-old student is now going to continue to trek the remaining month she has of academia. She will also keep in tact a dating life that will never run smoothly, and that’s completely fine by her. This blog has been the love of my life for over four months, and while it means well, it’s time we finally part. Frankly, it’s not you, it’s me.

A many thanks are in order. To all my friends and family, thank you for working around my weird schedule in trying to squeeze in a movie everyday. Thanks for listening me bitch about this project and continue to encourage me to stay strong during this stupid thing. Also, thanks for letting me blow up your timelines. Your efforts, your movies, and your thoughts are completely and utterly appreciated.

Finally, thank you to my loyal readers. You guys are amazing and continue doing what you’re doing. For those in love and those who are still searching, good luck to you because you guys deserve it.

This project has finally come to an end, so thanks again everyone!

My last little piece of something to leave you with, “The good are never easy, the easy never good, and love, it never happens like you think it really should.”

The End.

Stay in love,

Isidora

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Day 143: Titanic

  1. Congrats on finishing!! So cool to read your final reflections. They’re things that I’ve thought about too…love is complicated and sucks, but always being hopeful… I will always continue to hold out hope, because to me there is nothing more amazing than love, and it has to work out in the end. But I’m one of those that read too many fairytales as a kid, so we’ll see… 🙂

  2. Well done, lady. Love is very complicated, and it takes a lot out of you. But it also fills you up and makes you whole. Congratulations on completing this project. I can’t wait to see what you’re up to next.

  3. I really like your blog. Follow mine?

Leave a comment